Be Where Your (Investing) Feet Are

One journey. Many paths.

In partnership with

Whiskey: A Hedge Against Market Volatility

Looking to protect your portfolio from the next recession?

Consider investing in rare spirits like whiskey.

Whiskey investing provides a proven hedge against stock market dips driven by inflation and other factors.

With Vinovest, you can invest in high-growth segments such as American Single Malt, emerging Scotch, Bourbon, and Irish whiskey. Thanks to established industry relationships, Vinovest overcomes industry barriers that have made historically whiskey investing expensive and opaque. As a result, you can enjoy high-quality inventory that boosts your portfolio value and enhances liquidity.

Random Words from our sponsor, Public.com

All right, options traders, listen up. I want to tell you a bit about Public.com. But first, have you ever actually thought about all the fees you're paying to trade options? Aside from the regulatory fees, there are commissions, and most platforms charge per contract fees, too.

That's what makes today's sponsor Public. Public doesn't charge commissions or pre contract fees, and in an industry first, they offer a rebate of up to 18 cents per option contract traded. Check it out. If you trade 1,000 option contracts on Public, you'll get up to $180 in rebates. If you trade 10,000 contracts, you could earn almost $2,000.

More importantly, the rebate means you can maximize your profits and and minimize your losses. So to recap, no commissions, no per contract fees, and up to 18 cents on every contract traded. See why NerdWallet recently awarded Public five stars for options trading, and start earning up to 18 cents per contract traded only at Public.com.

Paid for by Public Investing. Options not suitable for all investors and carry significant risk. Full disclosures and podcast description U.S. members only. 

Jeff’s Random Words

Bad days in the stock market happen. As I write this (mid-day on August 2), the S&P 500 is down 2% and the Nasdaq has fallen 3%. Many stocks in my portfolio are down even more. It happens. If I’m being honest, days like this make me excited. That might seem counterintuitive, but for someone at my stage in life, it’s not. 

I have at least 20 years before I plan to retire. So a down day, week, year, or year-plus at this point is essentially an opportunity. An opportunity to buy stocks at a discount and to use all the frameworks and tools in my investing toolbox. It’s not always easy to see it that way (see my vibes circa 2022), but the more experience I get, the easier it has become.

I want to be clear, if you’re reading this while in or near retirement, this certainly may land differently. I appreciate that. However, I can’t pretend to know how that feels, so I’m going to continue to speak about my experience. I’ll be where you are eventually, God willing.

Anyway, I just went through my portfolio hoping to see some obvious buying opportunities. I was initially drawn to Amazon (AMZN). The market did not like its earnings (specifically its guidance) and the stock is down around 10% today, putting shares back to the price they traded for back in February!

Next, I turned to ASML (ASML). One of my favorite stocks, and down 8% today! We haven’t seen this share price since January! You get the idea…

But here’s the thing. I didn’t buy anything. I just closed the browser and walked away from the computer. Newer-investor me would have bought a bunch of stocks today. But patience and a tendency towards inaction have benefitted me in the past and I’m fine waiting for now. I don’t think I’m passing up any no-brainer value opportunities right now so I owe it to myself to slow down and think more.

For example, I haven’t taken more than a cursory glance at Amazon’s earnings yet. I have a sense that this might be an overreaction that happened to coincide with a bad market day, but that’s just an assumption at this point. I need to read more. It reminds me of my new favorite mantra: Don’t trade, learn.

So that’s what I’m going to do. Learn. Then (maybe), I’ll buy again.

Jeff

Jason’s Not-So-Random Words (this week)

I bought a whole bunch of stocks on Friday.

Jason

Reply

or to participate.